About Us

About Community Health Network Areas (CHNAs)

CHNAs are MA Department of Public Health designated areas created in 1992 to improve health through local collaboration. The Health Equity Partnership of North Central Mass is CHNA 9. We are a partnership between the DPH, residents, hospitals, local social service agencies, schools, faith communities, businesses, boards of health, municipalities, and others working together to:

  • Identify the health needs of member communities
  • Find ways to address those needs
  • Improve a broad scope of health in these communities

Our Mission

To bring together and support diverse voices to promote health equity in our communities.

Health Equity

Health Equity is defined by Healthy People 2030 as "the attainment of the highest level of health for all people. Achieving health equity requires valuing everyone equally with focused and ongoing societal efforts to address avoidable inequalities, historical and contemporary injustices, and the elimination of health and health care disparities.”

Communities Served

The Health Equity Partnership of North Central Massachusetts serves the following communities:

  • Ashburnham
  • Ashby
  • Ayer
  • Barre
  • Berlin
  • Bolton
  • Clinton
  • Fitchburg
  • Gardner
  • Groton
  • Hardwick
  • Harvard
  • Hubbardston
  • Lancaster
  • Leominster
  • Lunenburg
  • New Braintree
  • Oakham
  • Pepperell
  • Princeton
  • Rutland
  • Shirley
  • Sterling
  • Templeton
  • Townsend
  • Westminster
  • Winchendon